Travel tips for visiting Golden Triangle in India

 Taj Mahal, Agra, India
Taj Mahal, Agra, India

Intrigued in checking out Golden Triangle in India on your own and don’t understand how and where to begin? Here is an example of our February itinerary and some beneficial suggestions that will assist you to obtain prepared for this distinct experience. If you have not checked out India before, you have to prepare yourself for quite a rollercoaster, believe me.

How Many Days You Need For Visiting Golden Triangle

On the map it will appear like you can do the Golden Triangle within 3 days, but the truth is a bit various. First off, the traffic in India is something beyond your creativity and you can easily invest 6 hours for simply over 200 kilometers’ drive. There are a lot of companies that provide “Daily journeys from Delhi to Taj Mahal”, however that must be one hell of a flight. Not to discuss the crowds you will experience if you are not there very first thing in the morning. I ‘d say that our 4-day (5 nights) Golden Triangle itinerary is perfect if you do not want to spend excessive time in India and rather combine your journey with checking out some other location, like Maldives or Sri Lanka.

When is the very best Time to Visit?

In terms of the weather condition the finest time to visit Golden Triangle is from October to mid-April, if you wish to avoid the excruciating heat of the summertime and the downpour of monsoon season. We existed in the start of February and while daily temperatures were somewhere in between 22-25 ° C, it was quite chilly throughout the nights- winter season temperatures can easily drop listed below 10 ° C. Unfortunately, in the cold weather air contamination rises and brings the smog, particularly around Delhi. So, I ‘d rather picked March for going to if I were you.

You can visit the Golden Triangle either by vehicle, bus, train or airplane. The simplest way is to work with a driver through a regional representative, like we did. He was our “shadow buddy” throughout the whole journey- he chose us up at the airport and dropped us off for the return flight. Working with a chauffeur in India is an excellent option for a number of factors: the service is relatively low-cost, the drivers are very trustworthy and even if you choose to take a local flight you still require a transportation to get to all the attractions. If I had to do it all over once again, I would most likely think about choosing a return flight from Jaipur to Delhi (inspect here for regional flights) nevertheless, keep in mind that in winter season months the smog can interfere with flight schedules.

How to Pick the Right Travel Guide and Driver

The very best method is to contact any tour company in India. There abound of contacts on the web, I found mine on Swan Tours and I was truly pleased with the service. Miss. Seema was in fact the one who recommended the travel plan for us, after I had actually told him that I only wanted “simply to see Taj Mahal”. I am grateful that I followed his suggestions because it would have been an embarrassment to Jaipur and Agra fort. Besides organizing the chauffeur, Seema likewise encouraged us to take a guide in each city and that was another smart idea- without them we would probably miss over half of the sights on our way. We organized whatever through email and if you desire his contact just drop me a line. Anyhow, make certain that you ask exactly what is consisted of in the rate: fuel and tolls, taxes for crossing the state borders, insurance coverage, chauffeur’s expenditures (his lodging, food etc) … as well as ask if the motorist speaks English.

Our Golden Triangle Itinerary-By Car

Delhi- Agra (230 km): We landed in Delhi Airport on Monday at 3 am, invested exactly what was left of the night at the hotel and continued towards Agra at 11 am. We arrived to Agra around 4 pm which was ideal to stop at Mehtab Bagh and see the Taj Mahal throughout the river. If you are fortunate you may capture a beautiful sundown.

Agra- Jaipur (240 km): We woke up in Agra at 5 am (I shit you not) to see Taj Mahal. You will require a number of hours to see it effectively, depending upon your fascination with selfies and lust for historical details. After seeing Taj Mahal, we visited Agra Fort (another hour approximately for the trip) and continued our journey (around 4 hour’s drive) towards Jaipur.

Jaipur-Delhi (270 km): After seeing the most iconic websites of Jaipur (Hawa Mahal, Jal Mahal, Amber Fort and Planetarium) which took us about 4 hours, we returned to Delhi with over 6 hours’ flight that I will always remember. The traffic there is really incredible.

2 Nights in Delhi: We stayed in the same hotel as on the night of our arrival and spent our last day to see a piece of Delhi. Unfortunately, we got stuck in the traffic so typically that we needed to skip a couple of things but hey, that’s life.

Where to Stay During the Trip

I followed my good friend’s recommendations to book just 5-star hotels in order to avoid stomach problems (hygiene is a BIG issue in India!). However, we didn’t want to waste too much loan just to invest the night in each city, so I went for the most affordable choices: for Delhi I scheduled WelcomHotel Dwarka (fairly close to the airport but over 1 hour drive from the town hall, so do your own math …), for Agra I thought twice a little about that Taj Mahal view however I am grateful I didn’t pay that money (we would not have seen it anyhow because of the smog/fog) so I picked Crystal Sarovar Premiere, and in Jaipur I scheduled Ramada Jaipur (let’s state it was ok for the loan). I recommend you to pre-book your hotels especially throughout high season-keep in mind, Golden Triangle sights get crowded in seconds. And I make certain you can find some excellent choices amongst 3 or 4-star hotels as well.

Truthfully, I was horrified of this trip due to the fact that of everything I had actually checked out and become aware of hygiene standards in India. I didn’t wish to risk however much as a tiny digestion problem, particularly due to the fact that the very best part of the trip (Maldives) was yet to come. I took Hepatitis A and B vaccinations (make sure you compute the time you need between the periods) due to the fact that I prepare to take a trip to Africa soon and I will need it anyhow. I didn’t complicate with other vaccinations (no requirement for Malaria medication in this location, especially not in the dry duration), however I did fill up my travel health package with these additional: Carboline chewable tablets, soluble hydration tablets, hand sanitizers and (don’t laugh) rubber gloves. I likewise followed these basic rules: wash your hands all the time, drink just bottled water (I also cleaned my teeth with it), eat just fruits you can peel, eat only prepared or grilled food and flush whatever with some scotch from time to time. Worked for me perfectly

What to Wear In India

India is a very spiritual nation so it is advised for the girls to dress properly. There are no constraints nevertheless and you will see a lot of half-naked ladies (mostly travelers) roaming around but if you wish to avoid getting looking at, at least cover your shoulders. The most sophisticated way is to use a headscarf (or even better buy one on one of the marketplaces) and not too tight trousers. If you are a solo female tourist, I advise you to follow these guidelines more carefully because there is a high level of violence versus women in India.

For more information on Golden triangle tour packages from Delhi India contact Swan Tours one of the leading travel agents in Delhi, India.

Leave a comment